Posted by: thediplomaticwife | November 2, 2010

Fish & Chips Shop – Kemang

The Fish and chips shop in kemang

We’ve always been intrigued by this small unassuming Fish & Chips shop in Kemang. But since we didn’t have a a car before, we’ve never checked it out. There is barely any parking and if we took a cab, the cab would have to wait because it would be difficult to hail a cab from this corner.

Last weekend, on the way home from shopping in Kemang, we finally decided to stop and get some take-away. Pictures and our verdict after the jump! 

Note: I’ve never had authentic fish and chips so I cannot say weather the taste is authentic or not. And my hubby, who lived in the UK for sometime could not, for the life of him, remember. So our comments are based on our humble opinion on what tastes good or not.

 

Chalkboard menu

The interiors are sparse and very basic. I don’t recommend dining in unless you are really hungry and you are already in the area.

 

Self service at Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

Self-service: order, pick up your food and pay at the counter

Few tables and a TV at Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

Few tables and a TV with a - what else? - football

We got take-away and the food was ready pretty fast. I was a bit apprehensive that it might get soggy from the waiting time and the drive home, but I didn’t need to worry – it was still crispy when we opened it.

Fish & Chips plus a side order of onion rings from Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

It wasn't wrapped in newspaper or anything...

Captains sized fish and chips (80 grams of fish) Rp 38,000.

We ordered one each thinking it would be small. Boy were we wrong. Even if we were ravenous, TD and I couldn’t finish our orderst! Next time I’m definitely ordering the smaller size!

Tartar sauce and vinegar from Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

Tartar sauce, vinegar and salt (in the cute shaker that my good friend KE gave me)

I like to combine the vinegar and tartar sauce before dipping the fish. The accompanying condiments were pretty good in my book. TD said that he remembers the malt vinegar in the UK to have a stronger taste and darker color, but agrees that the ones from Fish and Chips Kemang were pretty yummy.

 

Onion rings sidings from Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

Onion rings on the side. It looked small, but we realized it was the perfect portion, after all we could barely finish our fish and chips!

It was a good meal. The fish was fresh and everything was crispy. I liked both the fries and the onion rings. (But next time I’ll stick to the “chips” since it’s a better match to the chips) My only complaint is that it was a bit oily inside – which happens when the oil used was not hot enough before the food was thrown in. If the oil was hot, then it usually doesn’t seep into the food and only penetrates the surface. Since it was a slow night, they must have turned off the fryer, which explains the oiliness of the fish and onions.  But I’d definitely have fish and chips here again, but now I know they deliver! So much more convenient than driving through Kemang traffic!

Also read somewhere that the Fish and Chips at Murphy’s Bar in Kemang is pretty good. Can anybody confirm? Will tell TD about it and try it sometime! One day I hope  to go to England and try the real thing so I can finally compare!

Fish and chips menu at Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

The main menu *More below. Click to enlarge

 

Fish and Chips Shop Kemang
  • Delivery orders: 021 – 719 6884
  • Jl. Kemang 1 No. 3, Jakarta Selatan
  • BAR CODE Pre Club & Terace at La Codefina 3rd floor (Okay I don’t know exactly if this is a second location, but it is in their calling card. Maybe we should check it out sometime. It might have better ambiance!)

 

menu of Fish & Chips Shop - Kemang

The rest of the menu


Responses

  1. captaens!

    • Yeah hahaha! I couldn’t bring myself to spell it that way ;P

  2. […] be brought a small basket of 3 pieces as a replacement despite my request for only one. Compared to Fish and Chips Kemang, the batter of this is not as crunchy, but the flavor was just as good and it was much less oily! […]

  3. […] sudah naik sejak kunjungan Jia sebelumnya, saya menemukan foto ini dari salah satu review di blog ini, bisa dilihat kan perbedaan harga dulu dan sekarang? sungguh […]


Leave a comment

Categories