Posted by: thediplomaticwife | February 9, 2011

FOOD ♨ I am on a High Tea Mission

 

(image: CrunchyTiger)

After reading my post on High Tea at Huize Van Wely last week my friend, Fab Ted (former Mr. Time Out Jakarta himself) said they did a feature on Afternoon Teas in Jakarta and according to the said feature the best ones are below. I also included some write-ups I found on the net for my future reference on what might be nice to order. I’m not sure how updated the information is but I will definitely find out!

The Fountain Lounge at the Grand Hyatt

Some savory samples includes mushroom Quiche, Californian maki rolls or breaded prawns with tartar sauce, while sweet offerings include tropical fruit pavlova, mango pudding and of course, freshly baked scones.

Don’t miss their crisp chicken panini, warm bitterballen, and rich chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream to go, with plenty of tea to choose from.

Our personal fave was Berry Mix with apple pieces, rosehip, sea buckthorn and a nice hint of cinnamon. Relax with a stimulating mix (of lemon grass, lemon balm, lemon verbena and rose flowers) — good for the body and stomach. Read more… (The Jakarta Post)

The Cafe at Hotel Mulia Senayan

Couldn’t find anything on the net regarding high tea in The Cafe. Guess will have to try it and be the first to write about it! Cool.

The Majapahit Lounge at The Dharmawangsa

Take pleasure in a pot of tea, a bonbonnierre (tiered stand) full of sandwiches, pastries, chocolates and cookies, homemade raisin scones and then the highlight, your own choice of Indonesian snacks (six of them).

Everything about it is so good it’s hard to choose where to begin. OK, maybe the scones. Forget a fork or knife: Use your hand to hold the warm scones that are soft and fragrant, with sweet-and-sour raisins inside.

Share the trio of scones with a friend since you’ll need the space for the next delight: mini-sandwiches. These tempting morsels come in threes and are a feast for your eyes, with colorful bread made from saffron or red rice to enclose smoked beef, chicken and salmon fillings.

The best thing about afternoon tea at The Dharmawangsa is the selection of traditional sweets and savories you can choose yourself. Read more… (The Jakarta Post).

Lobo at The Ritz-Carlton

125,000++ per person

The Ritz-Carlton opened its first luxurious property in Boston in 1927. Since then, a famous tradition began with the afternoon tea time.

Let’s go back to the old tradition and savor the afternoon with our wide favorite teas, such as Chamomile, Darjeeling, English Breakfast and many more accompanied by sandwiches, scones and cookies. Read more…

I will make it a mission to meet up with the ladies for high tea instead of lunch. Though ladies-who-high-tea doesn’t sound nearly as fab as ladies-who-lunch –  high tea is most definitely FAB!


Responses

  1. What great information you have here!! I love high-tea, but I haven’t gone to one since I have kids. My peaceful time is over! The pricing seems rather reasonable at The Dharmawangsa and Ritz-Carlton for their locations. Now I want to try one of them… Thanks for the wonderful post!!!

  2. Hi Kaho, you’re welcome! I realized that high tea is so much cheaper than a meal yet so much more fab! Most of my friends here are moms with kids as well… but we sometimes try to schedule grown up get togethers (aside from playdates) to take a break from husband and kids during the week – for some much needed girl talk! I’d love for you to meet them sometime!

  3. I would love to meet your friends, too! Please let me know when you will be going to a high tea some other times. I would love to join you!!


Leave a comment

Categories